The endorsements game: an update

  Here's an updated breakdown on  leadership contest endorsements from the 49 members of the legislature elected as B.C. Liberals in 2009.


Candidates (4): Moira Stilwell. George Abbott. Mike de Jong. Kevin Falcon.


Supporting Kevin Falcon (15): Pat Bell. Shirley Bond. Rich Coleman, Iain Black, Mary Polak, John Yap, Stephanie Cadieux, John Les, Ron Cantelon, Dave Hayer, Doug Horne, Rob Howard, Joan McIntyre, Pat Pimm, and Mark Dalton.


Supporting George Abbott (17): Ralph Sultan. Bill Bennett. Mary McNeil. Steve Thomson, Murray Coell, Randy Hawes, Richard Lee, Gordon Hogg, John van Dongen, John Slater, Jane Thornthwaite, John Rustad, Don McRae, Norm Letnick, Eric Foster, and Terry Lake. Abbott also has the support of Kash Heed, though the latter "stepped away" from the campaign this week in hopes of reducing further controversy arising his own troubles.


Supporting Christy Clark (1): Harry Bloy.


Not likely to endorse (3): Premier Gordon Campbell. Cabinet ministers Barry Penner and Kevin Krueger, both serving on the party’s oversight committee.


Wild card (1): A Liberal who quit the caucus and whose return could provide a boost to the candidate who manages to lure him back: Blair Lekstrom.


Undeclared and may not declare for anyone (8): Bill Barisoff (speaker) and Linda Reid (deputy speaker). Cabinet ministers Ben Stewart, Margaret MacDiarmid, Naomi Yamamoto, Colin Hansen. Backbencher Donna Barnett. Plus cabinet minister Ida Chong intends to hold off endorsing anyone until the current recall campaign is over.


Here's the same kind of breakdown for the 35 MLAs elected as New Democrats in 2009:


Candidates (5): Nicholas Simons, Mike Farnworth, Adrian Dix, Harry Lali, John Horgan.


Supporting Adrian Dix (3): Bruce Ralston, Harry Bains, Sue Hammell.


Supporting Mike Farnworth (2): Rob Fleming and Norm Macdonald.


Supporting John Horgan (3). Scott Fraser. Maurine Karagianis. Kathy Corrigan.


Not intending to endorse anyone (2): Carole James, who was forced out as leader last fall. Dawn Black, named interim leader.


Undeclared and may not declare (19): Robin Austin. Jagrup Brar. Raj Chouhan. Katrine Conroy. Gary Coons. Doug Donaldson. Mable Elmore. Guy Gentner. Spencer Chandra Herbert. Leonard Krog. Jenny Kwan. Michelle Mungall. Lana Popham. Bill Routley. Doug Routley. Michael Sather. Shane Simpson. Diane Thorne. Claire Trevena.


Wild Card (1) Bob Simpson, now sitting as an independent.


About the author

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An AWESEM design